Why blog anonymously?

I think that there is a lot of be said for writing with a concealed identity. There is suddenly a sense of freedom that simply does not exist when people know who you are. You are no longer inclined to be politically correct, polite or selfless. Even if at the end of the day, no one reads what I have written, I will be content knowing that I unabashedly wrote exactly how I felt or what I think.

I am a very private person who thinks that often the world around me to too critical and too easily offended. I write not to start riffs or arguments, but to relieve myself of my ideas, anxieties, hopes and fears.

Going anonymous was not a difficult decision. I am a writer in the public eye already and that is terrifying. I have a reputation, as many others do. I believe that we have the ability to be many different people- who you are at work for example, is not who you are at home. I want to explore this side of myself in this blog, by tearing away preconceived notions that are attached to my name.

In a world that is all to public, anonymous blogs give me some element of privacy, and I will take whatever I can get.

